ARPA Notice Of Funding Availability – City Of Kalamazoo Summer Program Fund

KYD Network serves as the intermediary organization for Kalamazoo County’s Out-of-School Time (OST) sector.

About

Our Work

Implementing a system of quality and accountability to produce the best outcomes for youth.

Our History

KYD Network begins as a collaborative effort among the city of Kalamazoo, the Irving S. Gilmore Foundation, and the Hispanic American Council to provide networking opportunities for youth-serving organizations
KYD Network transitions from a networking and information-sharing program to an intermediary organization that is building a sustainable out-of-school time system in Kalamazoo County
We begin implementing the Devereux Student Strengths Assessment (DESSA) to measure Social and Emotional Learning (SEL) skills in youth

We implement the Kalamazoo County Youth Cabinet (KCYC), our youth advisory council
The size of our cohort grows to 50 organizations
We receive our 501(c)3 status and move to Lincoln Elementary School
We begin our journey in implementing Critical Youth Development (CYD) within the cohort, inspired by the work of Black female scholars Drs. Merle McGee and Bianca Baldridge
We expand to serve Calhoun County
We move to our current location at the Kalamazoo Professional Center on Portage Street
We transition from DESSA to Hello Insight as our SEL assessment tool
We pilot the Critical Youth Development YPQA to measure CYD in OST programs
2000
2014
2015
2017
2018
2019
2021
2022
2023
2024

Our Vision

An anti-racist community where all youth thrive.

Our Misson

Ensure that all youth have agency within a well-coordinated system that supports anti-racist, high-quality, and youth-driven out-of-school time programs.

Our Staff

Meg
Blinkiewicz

she/her/hers
Executive
Director

meg@kydnet.org
Learn More

Viridiana
Carvajal

she/her/ella

Lead OST Program Development Coach
viridiana@kydnet.org

Learn More

Abra
Smith

she/her/hers

Director of
Wellness Initiatives
abra@kydnet.org

Learn More

Jacquis
Robertson

she/her/hers

Community Engagement Coordinator
jaquis@kydnet.org

Learn More

Alexis
Caples

she/her/hers

OST Program Development Coach
alexis@kydnet.org

Learn More

Genesis
Griffin

she/her/hers

Youth Leadership Coordinator & Youth Mobility Mentor genesis@kydnet.org

Learn More

Ariel
Laws

he/him/his

OST Program Development Coach - Calhoun County
ariel@kydnet.org

Learn More

Jane
Asumadu

she/her/hers

OST Program Development Coach
jane@kydnet.org

Learn More
Olivia Terrentine

Olivia
Terrentine

she/her/hers

OST Program Development Coach
olivia@kydnet.org

Learn More
Brynn Rohdes Headshot

Brynn
Rohde

she/her/hers

Systems
Coordinator
brynn@kydnet.org

Learn More

Our Board of Directors

Lisa Jenkins-Meredith

Co-Chair
KRESA

Jonathan James

Treasurer
Kalamazoo Promise

Joan Hawxhurst

KRESA Career Awareness & Exploration

Tia Whitley

Gryphon Place

Jenna VanSpronsen

ISK

Percy Gordon

College Student

Jamiese Edmonson

KRESA MyCITY Lead Program Coach 

Paul Evans

High School Student

Demecia Labarre

Stryker Corp

Boonikka Herring

Battle Creek City Commissioner

Learn more about our work.

Using data-driven models, we partner with the out-of-school time sector to create a thriving community for youth in Southwest Michigan.